30 Jan 2020


The Vice-Chancellor, Abia State University and Chairman of Senate has formally Inaugurated the 2019/2020 Senate of the University with a charge to provide quality academic and administrative leadership in their respective Faculties and Departments to ensure the promotion of excellence in the University.
Oath of office on the members was administered by the Ag.Registrar, Mr. A.O Nkama.
The Inauguration ceremony which was the highlight of the 234th Regular meeting of Senate, commenced with a homily by Rev. Fr. Onyemelusi, Chaplain, St. Augustine Chaplaincy, ABSU. He charged members to be humble, submit to constituted authorities, ensure cohesion and stability in the system. He commended the Vice-Chancellor, Professor E. Uche Ikonne for his uncommon leadership qualities and transforming the University into an enviable citadel of learning. Special prayers were said for the University Management, Senate, the State and Visitor to the University, Okezie Victor Ikpeazu, Ph.D and the nation.
Other highlights of the Senate Meeting include:
🔸 Setting up of a new Directorate of Law and Justice and appointment of Professor Sam Erugo as Pioneer Director.
🔸 Nomination of Professor S.O Igwe and Professor G.I Nwaka as Emeritus Professors, who will be formally installed at the 27th Convocation Ceremony of the University on 27th March, 2020.
🔸 Nomination of the President General, Ohaneze Ndi Igbo, Chief Nnia  Nwodo as 27th Pre-Convocation Lecturer of Abia State University and proposed honorary doctorate degree awards to include:1. Barr. Allen Onyema, MD/CEO Airpeace.2. Engr. Nnamdi Ezeigbo, MD/CEO Slot Computers.3. Dame Gladys Nwafor, Wife of former Deputy Governor Abia State.
🔸 Appointment of Mr. Chidi Mba as supervisor of ABSU Transport Committee.
List of Provost/Deans Include:🔸 Professor  S.N Onwere – Provost🔸 Professor Eze Ngerakwe – Dean, Law🔸 Professor G.C. Nwizu – Dean Social Sciences 🔸 Professor R.I Ndimele – Dean, Humanities 🔸 Professor S.N – Umeham – Dean, Biological Sciences.🔸 Professor (Mrs) J.N Ogwo – Dean, Physical Sciences.🔸 Professor Rock Eze – Dean, Education🔸 Professor C.I Eze – Dean, Agriculture🔸 Arc. Dr. C.E Azubuike – Dean, Environmental Studies.🔸 Dr. N.O Dibia – Dean, Business Administration.🔸 Professor O.C Ahuama – Dean, Health Sciences🔸 Dr. Levi Nwokocha – Dean, Student Affairs🔸 Professor E.E Anyanwu – Dean, Engineering 🔸 Professor Oleka Udeala – Dean, Pharmaceutical Sciences🔸 Professor B.O Ekpo – Dean, Basic Medical Sciences🔸 Professor A. Kamanu – Dean, Clinical Medicine🔸 Barr. Dr. Steve Amaraimo – Head of Administration, Umuahia Location.
Senate commended the Vice-Chancellor, Professor E. Uche Ikonne for his unique leadership qualities which have manifested in the areas of discipline, security, improved academic contents, improved service delivery, improved welfare of staff and students and prayed God to continue to endow him with wisdom and strength for greater accomplishments.