16 Dec 2019


Senate of Abia State University has congratulated the Vice Chancellor, Distinguished Professor E. Uche Ikonne on the well deserved “Excellent Leadership and Performance Award” by the Global body of Abia State University Alumni.

In a motion moved by Profesor Ogbonna Onuoha and seconded by Professor O. A Opara –Nadi at its 80th Extra Ordinary/Valedictory meeting, marking the successful completion of the 2018/2019 academic session, Senate unanimously adopted and reinforced its earlier resolution passing an implicit and explicit confidence in the Vice Chancellor for his selfless, dogged and practical achievements in the University and his ability and competence in the administration of the University in line with global best practices.

Senate expressed gratitude to the Abia State University Alumni Association world –wide for honoring the Vice-Chancellor who has become synonymous with outstanding University leadership administration and development.

Senate also commended the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ), Abia State Chapter for again honoring the Vice Chancellor with “Outstanding Manager of Tertiary Institutions in Nigeria Award” in view of his solid academic, Infrastructure, Character, Moral, Welfare and Alumni relationship development of the University.

Earlier in his opening remarks, the Vice Chancellor and Chairman of Senate, Distinguished Professor E. Uche Ikonne appreciated members of senate for their immense support and solidarity which has ensured unprecedented Four (4) years of uninterrupted academic activities in the University and prayed God for more grace in the coming year.

He thanked the Governor and Visitor to the University, Okezie Victor Ikpeazu Ph.D for his moral and financial support to the University and pledged to continue to ensure conducive environment for teaching and research in the University.

It will be recalled that on November 30, 2019. The Alumni and Alumnae of Abia State University drawn from all over the world gathered at the University Auditorium for the Maiden Alumni Convocation Ceremony, the first of its kind in any University in Nigeria, where Four (4) distinguished Alumni were honoured with Honorary Doctorate Degrees, honoris causa.