Welcome to the

Faculty of Law

Learn More

To be an internationally recognized Faculty producing ethical and competent law graduates for a globalized world


To produce ethical and competent law graduates.

Our History


On behalf of Faculty and students, I welcome you to this special centre of legal education in Nigeria.

Everything at this Faculty is specially designed to produce future ethical and competent lawyers in the best international standards.

Professor Sam Erugo

Dean of Faculty

No Content

Faculty of Law, Abia State University is an offshoot of the defunct School/College of Legal Studies, Imo State University at Aba dating back to 1981.

On the establishment of former Imo State University in 1981, the College of Business Administration and Legal Studies (as it was then named) was located at Aba temporary site. The first Dean of the College was Professor A. Oye Cukwurah while Professor Osita Eze acted as the Coordinator, School of Legal Studies.

Both Professors together with other Lecturers like Dr. D.J. Bakibinga; Dr. Max Nduaguibe, Dr. Victor Mpamugoh, Professor Awa U. Kalu (SAN), Chief Eze Duru-lheoma (SAN) nurtured the pioneer students to their LL.B. degree in 1985. The College was later moved to Okigwe/Uturu in 1987 when the University’s permanent site at Uturu was completed.
The College was later split into the College of Business Administration, and College of Legal Studies. Professor Osita Eze took over from Professor A. Oye Cukwurah as Dean of the College of Legal Studies.

Professor Osita Eze was succeeded by Professor Babs Iheme. Dr. Victor Mpamugoh took over from Professor Babs Iheme as Dean until 1995 when he handed over the mantle of leadership to Professor Ernest Ojukwu,SAN. In 2000, Professor Ojukwu was succeeded by Dr. M.O. Unegbu as Dean, while Dr. Uneggu was succeeded in 2004 by Mr. P.C. Ugochukwu.

Professor Oji Umozurike took over in October, 2007 and was Dean of the Faculty till 2010. Dr. M.O. Unegbu returned to the office in 2010 and was again succeeded by Mr. P.C. Ugochukwu. The current Dean, Professor Sam Erugo took over from Mr. Ugochukwu in the 2015/2016 session.

The University was renamed Abia State University, Uturu in the year 1992 when it was ceded to the newly created Abia State of Nigeria.

Following the implementation of the Report of the Visitation Panel to the University in 2000, the College was transformed into a Faculty and full departmentalization was also introduced the same year with the creation of the departments of:

Jurisprudence, International and Public Law;
Private and Property Law, and Commercial and Industrial Law
In 2004, the Faculty joined the clinical legal education movement with the establishment of the law Clinic and Clinical Legal Education Programme.

The Faculty has continually distinguished herself in academics and achieved laurels both in internal and external competitions.

At the Law School, the Faculty has maintained a stature of recognition, having produced several first class students and award winners at Bar finals.

On two occasions the Faculty has also won the national Interviewing and Client Counseling completion and represented Nigeria at the 2010 and 2012 Louis Brown International Client Counseling Competition, at University of Hong Kong and University of Scotland.
Department of Private and Property Law
Department of Jurisprudence,
International and Public Law
Department of Commercial and Industrial Law
Clinical Legal Education Programme/Law Clinic
Head of Departments and Programmes
Department of Private and Property Law: Professor Sam Erugo
Department of Jurisprudence, International and Public Law: Professor Eze Ngwakwe
Department of Commercial and Industrial Law: Dr. Innocent Okoronye (Reader)
Postgraduate programme: Professor Eze Ngwakwe
Clinical Legal Education Programme/Law Clinic- Mr. Emeka Okorafor

Faculty Officer: Mr. Frank Nwosu, Deputy Registrar
Faculty Librarian: Mrs. Martha Ibeneme
Faculty Law Librarians: Mr. Chukwunenye Ochuwa, LL.B(Hons.), BL
Mrs. Uchechi Nnadede, LL.B(Hons.), BL
Staff Adviser (for students): Mr. Emeka Okorafor