2 Jul 2021


Following ratification of the Appraisal and Promotion (A&P) recommendations for 2017 and 2018 promotions for Teaching and Non teaching staff of Abia State University, the Governing Council has approved the elevation of nineteen (19) Senior Academics to the rank of Professors, and another Twenty-Seven (27) Senior Lecturers to Readers (Associate Professors).
The Vice-Chancellor, Distinguished Professor Onyemachi M. Ogbulu, who announced this during the 250th Senate meeting to mark the end of the 2019/2020 Academic Session, charged the newly promoted academics to see their elevation as a call for greater service to the University and Society at large.
It will be recalled that on assumption of office, the Vice-Chancellor promised to make the welfare and promotion of staff a top priority, and with a supportive Governing Council under the able leadership of His Excellency, Senator Adolphus Wabara  Ph.D,  promotion exercise, realignment of staff and other matters involving the welfare of staff of the University is receiving expedited action as promised by the administration.
The names of the newly promoted Senior Academics include:

1.Dr. M. U. Eze. Estate Management Reader to Professor

2.Dr. Levi K. Nwokocha. Educational Admin/ Planning Reader to Professor

3.Dr. Anya Igwe Kalu. Estate ManagementReader to Professor
4. Dr. P. U. Mbakwe. History and International RelationsReader to Professor
5.Dr. (Mrs.) K. N. N. Ndukuba. Foreign Language and Translation StudiesReader to Professor
6.Dr. Jude Chibuzo IgweIndustrial Chemistry . Reader to Professor
7.Dr. Emeka IwunzeForeign Language and Translation StudiesReader to Professor
8.Dr. Flora NkireSocial Studies and Environmental EducationReader toProfessor
9. Dr. A. A.Onwuegbuche. Physics Reader to Professor
10. Dr. Etusim Paschal Emeka. Animal and Environmental BiologyReader to Professor
11.Dr. Assumpta Uchechi Chapp-Jumbo. Paediatrics Reader to Professor
12.Dr. Anthony Ikechukwu Okafor. Animal and Environmental BiologyReader to Professor
13.Dr. E. O. Oti Sociology Reader to Professor
14.Dr. H. O. OkerekeMicrobiologyReader to Professor
15.Dr. Kalu Mong Kalu. Animal and Environmental BiologyReader to Professor
16.Dr. C. C. Okereke. Ethics and Sociology of ReligionReader to Professor
17.Dr. Ugochukwu Hart Ukpabi. Ruminant Animal ProductionReader to Professor
18.Dr. Austin Akpuda. English Language and LiteratureReader to Professor
19.Dr. Godwin U. Ndukwe. Anatomy Reader to Professor
The newly promoted academics will all be officially presented during the next senate session of the University.